A splash of cold water in Waterblogged.info’s face!

(And now a splatter of egg on my face as well. Man, I really screwed this up! Corrections are based on friendly comments from the two people whose lives, careers, and credentials I’d confused, conflated, and conjoined to such an extent that it looked like we might need to bring in a surgeon. After hours of tediously untangling the snarl of errors and omissions I managed to create (and running it by Waterblogged.info’s lawyer), I think I have it right. )

After my rigorous morning procrastination routine, I drove over to Waterblogged.info’s Northern California office and found this urgent message from a concerned reader and fellow water blogger:

Where is your reminder for yesterday’s World Water Day 2009? Have you given up? Has the water shortage problem gone away? Or have I overlooked something?

A worried water friend.

Alexa Fleckenstein M.D., physician, author.

250px-tear_systemsvgJust knowing that someone out there notices and cares brings a blurry mist of a saline solution–comprised of water, mucin, lipids, lysozyme, lactoferrin, lipocalin, lacritin, immunoglobulins, glucose, urea, sodium, and potassium–to my eyes and a renewed commitment to carry on with the underappreciated art of waterblogging.

I referred to  Dr. Fleckenstein–co-author with Roanne Weisman of a book called Health2O and sometime contributor to Wiesman’s blog— as a  “sort of” fellow water blogger because her beat is so different from mine: She is the CEO, senior writer, and chief medical officer at Own Your Health Health2O is about her Water for Health system that touts–among other alternative water-based therapies–the health benefits of cold showers. (BRRRRRRRaaaacing!)

Before you start with the judging and the “If she talks like a quack, she must be a etc.” business, read about the good doctor’s  (and Weisman’s) book  here.  And read one of Weisman’s entries on cold shower therapy here. extraordinary complete recovery from a crushing mid-life stroke. In her words, rather than accept the grim prognosis of the doctors who recommended adapting to her crippled condition, she:

. . . chose to fight my way back to recovery, and this is a tough thing to do for those of us who are accustomed to seeing our doctors as omniscient beings who control our health. I learned about methods of healing outside of mainstream conventional medicine,including Traditional Chinese Medicine, which has used acupuncture for thousands of years to treat stroke patients.

Yes, Dr. Fleckenstein, I just googled “water shortage problem” and dagnabbit, it hasn’t gone away! You haven’t overlooked anything, I have. I’m late in recognizing World Water Day, but this is  a Waterblogged.info tradition. As penance for my latest sin of omission, I’m linking to your wonderful World Water Day posting. It contains what is perhaps a perfect anecdote to illustrate what–aside from a friggin’ clue–is missing from the consciousness of Americans and others in the developed world: a reverent respect for water. It also contains bonus cool water  words like rivulet, rill,  and runnel.  It begins:

Turkey, 1970. A young American couple and a Turk at a small wellspring – a trifling rill of water in a vast land of rolling hills covered in ochre gravel and brown dried brush.

The Americans, with their feet in a muddy puddle that sends that paltry rivulet trickling down the hill, are shampooing their hair. They are laughing, trying to engage the Turk with their friendliness. “Su! Su!” says the Turk. He is tiny compared to the strapping young couple, and I suspect he is not as old as he looks – aged before his time as people are who live in arid regions. The Americans listen good-naturedly and seem to enjoy his funny gesturing. They are now rinsing their hair in the runnel that percolates meagerly from the rocks above. . .

3 Responses

  1. Dear Jared,
    Sorry to throw a bit of cold water on your recent, MOSTLY wonderful post about my co-author, Dr. Fleckenstein. But in fact you have mixed the two of us up. “Own Your Health” is actually my blog, which she occasionally contributes to. And while yes, she is a doctor, and a very talented one, I am the one who recovered from the stroke. I am a medical/science WRITER (see some of my books here: http://www.roanneweisman.com). So we are in fact two very different people, although good friends and the co-authors of two books.
    Best,
    Roanne

  2. We agree on the importance of conserving water – and perhaps even on using it for health advantage.

    But I am NOT the “CEO, senior writer, and chief medical officer” of the ownyourhealth website. My co-author Roanne Weisman runs the site, so you could call her the senior writer and CEO. I am her friend and a doctor and a writer who sometimes uses that website as a platform. And it was Roanne Weisman who overcame a major health hurdle in midlife (my own health hurdles happened when I was a kid).

    I have no bone in my body that would recommend me as a CEO. I am a water quack – if you want to call me that – with a board-certification in internal medicine.

    Water greetings!

    Alexa Fleckenstein M.D., physician, author.

  3. Wow, Jared – I wish EVERYBODY who screwed up just a little bit like you did would apologize so promptly and so gracefully!

    May water live!

    Alexa Fleckenstein M.D., physician, author.

Leave a Reply

