Water Consciousness!

In previous posts, Waterblogged.info’s summer reading list! Part 1, and Waterblogged.info’s summer reading list! Part 2, we recommended what we believe to be 10 important books about the global water crisis. All great books, but if you want the essential primer about the problems and how you can contribute to solutions*, snag a copy of Alternet’s Water Consciousness. Timely and informative, but also beautiful and accessible, it’s truly a good choice for agenda-driven holiday gift giving. Go here and press that green button that says Buy Now and follow the instructions to the letter.

*For example, a list of 14 Actions You Can Take to Protect Our Water. Don’t search–it’s not there.

10 Responses

  1. From the excerpt I just read (http://gristmill.grist.org/story/2008/9/25/103745/046), I judge this book to be highminded, ideological junk.

  2. I’ve never tasted Honey Nut Cheerios, but based on reading the box, I judge them to have an irresistible honey sweet taste!

    Unlike Dr. Zetland, I’ve read Water Consciousness, and I judge it to be an excellent and accessible resource. It’s crammed with informative and sophisticated essays, photos, tables, lists, and graphs that give a comprehensive overview of the vexing problems we all face concerning the rapidly diminishing supply of fresh water. The fact that the editors and contributors dare express strong political viewpoints that distress Dr. Zetland doesn’t make the book junk.

    I guess everyone is entitled to his or her opinion, however misguided and hostilely expressed it may be. Unfortunately, we now live in an era of public discourse in which opinion need have no basis in fact and is best served with a side dish of belligerence. Even well-educated people who should know better–such as Dr. Zetland–are not at all embarrassed to nastily condemn something with which they haven’t much familiarity.

    We are also at a point in which the Dr. Zetlands of the world can respond to whatever social or political statements they happen to find disagreeable by pointing their finger and screeching “ideological,” and the discussion is over. This is a meaningless misuse of the term as a conversation-killing rhetorical bullet. All social and political stances are based on ideology, even those of Dr. Zetland.

    I urge you to check out the book for yourself: http://www.amazon.com/Water-Consciousness-Tara-Lohan/dp/0975272446

  3. Hey Jared!

    Relax. Not only did I qualify my judgment, but I did not say anything “belligerent”. I also agree with you on expressing opinions, and I wonder why you think mine baseless.

    See this post for more on my opinions and how I update them on the basis on deeper “reading”: http://aguanomics.com/2008/10/flow-review.html

  4. I generally don’t find all of your opinions baseless, just this one because you haven’t seen the book. I link to Aguanomics because I consider it unique, informative, and insightful. I often disagree with you, to be honest, but so far I’ve resisted drive-by dismissals.

    Deeming something that I praised “junk” seems pretty belligerent to me. But the real issue is that the book is the exact opposite of junk–it’s really a fine resource, with essays by and interviews with acknowledged experts who also happen to be very concerned about the enormous pressures on our finite water supply.

    It’s also brimming with really finely done graphs, lists, maps, and informational graphics–the workings of a desal plant, the water cycle, etc.

    BTW, one of the book’s contributors, Dr. Vandana Shiva, and an interview subject, Dr. Peter Gleick, were invited by the Economist to participate in their online debate on the water as a commodity, which you’d posted about recently.

  5. Whoops — When I said “junk” I didn’t mean to imply that you or your ideas were junk.

    On the book — fine, point taken. I just hope that it’s better than the essay I referred to and the movie that appears to be from many of the same people. As you will note in my review of the movie, I did not think Dr. Shiva’s observations were very useful to policy people (they ARE useful to activists.)

    That said, I am glad to hear of another good book on water — it’s a complicated little molecule. My apologies.

  6. […] Read a review of Water Consciousness on the fantastic blog about water issues, Waterblogged.info by Jared Simpson. […]

  7. Hi Jared. I thought I was supposed to win this book through your hydrological cycle coloring contest. What happened to that?
    See you soon. Abby

  8. Abby,
    I’ve been ignoring my blog because I’m slammed at my day gig. Yes, you are the grand prize winner and soon-to-be proud recipient of Water Consciousness! I was planning on bestowing it in New Orleans, but if you are so excited that you can’t wait, I’ll mail it.

    Cheers,

    Jared

  9. No need to mail the book. I was just giving you a hard time because, to be honest, I did not even know if the contest was real or a joke. I just entered it on the off-chance. I’m a sucker for the off-chance. But, hey, the book does look interesting, for sure.

  10. I absolutely knew you were giving me a hard time, because I’m very familiar with the sensation of a hard time being given to me.
    The contest was both real and a joke, a real joke, really. Always go for the off-chance!

Leave a Reply

