Speedblogging with Waterblogged.info

Waterblogged.info Editor in Chief’s log
Time: 6:08 a.m.

I visit Waterblogged.info, go to the blogroll and click on WaterWired, hosted by water guru Michael Campana. I scroll down to the recent entry titled Jared’s Waterblogged.info: Getting Serious With…Ground Water. I note with great pleasure that Mikie likes it. Anyone familiar with the wide world of water wonks knows that that’s a huge deal. I click on the title, copy the url, create the link, and write this.

Waterblogged.info Editor in Chief’s log
Time: 6:09 a.m.

I note that Michael can’t resist offering additional groundwater* links. (*Alternatively, and controversially, ground water. Per Michael, this orthographic conundrum is the wedge issue that divides ground water aficionados. I have no views on the issue until I check with Michael.)

Waterblogged.info Editor in Chief’s log
Time: 6:11 a.m.

I get up and take medications before I forget and pour a cup of coffee. I sip coffee and–to the tune of heat-stirred crickets–look out the window at the pine, oak, and bay trees that spike the crest of the hill across the valley. I note that they are crisply silhouetted against the sublime peach-like glow of the sky that transmutes in imperceptible gradations into the violet expanse overhead in which a few stars still twinkle. It’s been hot in Northern California, and the night was uncomfortably warm, but dawn offers a brief respite in the form of a small delicious breeze that comes through the window and caresses the ripped musculature of the underwear-only-clad body of the editor. . . Suddenly I remember that I’m speedblogging and rush back to the computer and write this very quickly.

Waterblogged.info Editor in Chief’s log
Time: 6:15 a.m.

I note that the spellchecker is alarmed by my first stab at silhouetted. I check the dictionary and correct the first and second instance. I write that I did this. I wonder why I always forget how to spell silhouette and reflect on the arbitrary nature of the spelling system of our bastard language, a mélange, if you will–or if you won’t, it really doesn’t have anything to do with you–of anglo-saxon and latinate roots. I predict that there will be more on this later and see that spellchecker rejects spellchecker, but screw it. I write this.

Waterblogged.info Editor in Chief’s log
Time: 6:18 a.m.

I note with great irritation that there is an inexplicable line space between the heading and time stamp of each entry and that I have to go into html view to remove each. What is up with that? And why is it that I can remove the spaces in the html view, not by removing errant code causing them–because there isn’t any–but by backspacing as if it were in visual mode, but I can’t do that in visual mode? I admit that, nonetheless, WordPress seriously rocks, and is free, except for the upgrades. I write this.

Waterblogged.info Editor in Chief’s log
Time: 6:30 a.m.

I realize that I need to get back on track, but take the time to reflect on the fact that Michael is kind of like the don of our little waterblogging mafia. We soldiers have to listen closely to his seemingly offhand and innocuous statements, interpret them accurately, and act accordingly. For example, when he says Here are a few additional groundwater links, he’s really saying Hey, Mr. Serious About Groundwater, add these important links to your seriously deficient groundwater entry, now. I go back to Michael’s site and copy his list of additional groundwater sites and paste them in my Getting serious about groundwater posting before I forget. I note with pride that I nailed innocuous without the help of picky Mr. Spellchecker, who ironically can’t even spell his own name. Write this.

Waterblogged.info Editor in Chief’s log
Time: 8:20 a.m.

When googling mélange to find out where the accent mark goes, I go to its Wikipedia entry and learn that in addition to being an English language loan word from the French language, used to mean a mixture of disparate components, a mélange is also a large scale breccia, a mappable body of rock characterized by a lack of continuous bedding and the inclusion of fragments of rock of all sizes.

I ponder the concept of a loan word, and wonder if and when we have to give it back to France. After a little research, I learn that les deadbeats have borrowed and–knowing them–have most likely failed to return a hell of a lot of words that we could totally be using right now. Merci beaucoup, but I think we’ll hang on to mélange for une petite while longer.

Coolly enough, melange (without the accent mark) is also the fictional drug (also known as spice) central to the Dune series of science fiction novels by Frank Herbert and derivative works.

Finally, and deliciously enough, melange (without the accent), refers to the Viennese specialty coffee, the viener melange, which, according to the Wikipedia entry, is “properly coffee with milk and is similar to a Cappuccino but usually made with milder coffee (e.g. mocha), preferentially caramelised.

I get another cup of coffee and wish that it were a viener melange. I note that mean Mr. Spellchecker and I agree on carmelise. That’s just wrong. I puzzle over why Brits insist on misspelling words like caramelize and organize. What do they have against the letter z ? I wonder momentarily how they spell Zorro.

Out of the night, when the full moon is bright, comes a horseman known as Sorro. This bold renegade carves an S with his blade, an S that stands for Sorro.

I decide against a third cup of coffee.

I write all of the above, noting that most of it is not really on message, strictly waterblog-speaking, but darn interesting, at least to me.

Waterblogged.info Editor in Chief’s log
Time: 9:07 a.m.

I post, wondering just where the hell the goddamn time went.

Leave a Reply

